Posters

I decided to do two 18×24 pictures, because a big 24×36 would overtake my small apartment!

Number one:

1. School Time; 10/20/2011; 2:15 pm; Bannack Ghost Town; f/5; 1/640; Canon PowerShot SX30 IS; Bracketed HDR done by Photomatix

I processed bracketed photos through Photomatix. Luckily, Photomatix automatically lines up your pictures, because I unfortunately I did not have a tripod at the time. I adjusted the levels and increased the yellow to give the plants a golden look. I then used an adjustment brush to add in a few highlights in the dark spots.

Number two:

2. Vacancy; 10/20/2011; 5:34 pm; Bannack Ghost Town; f/5.6; 1/200; Canon PowerShot SX30

For this one, I processed one picture through Photomatix using tone mapping. I decreased the exposure and added highlights on the plants. I then used the dodge tool to darken the brick color and the door to the hotel. This picture was a lot of work, but it was worth it.

I chose these pictures, because I liked the look of the old buildings and enjoy looking at them. I hesitated printing the hotel picture, because many of the students have done it, but I have never seen this angle done before so I thought I would go for it! As for the school, I was just playing around in Photomatix when I discovered what the program could do and what effects it had on the picture. I love the colors and the sky turned out great. I thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Bannack and am glad I have a few shots to add to my portfolio as well as the walls of my apartment.

Leave a comment